Malik, Hafeez dropped from PCB pruned annual contracts

Shoaib Malik and Mohammad Hafeez have now been dropped out of the PCB’s yearly central-contracts list for its 2019-2020 season. The plank has trimmed the pool from 33 to 19, cutting back the amount of groups from five to three. Just 3 players – Babar Azam, Sarfaraz Ahmed and Yasir Shah – are contained in the top-most bracket. The players’ performances and prospects have been taken under consideration under the new system, which sees a significant increase – in the range of 25-40percent – in the financial value of the yearly contracts.

Malik, Hafeez dropped from PCB pruned annual contracts

Malik, who recently retired from ODIs, and Hafeez were in categories A and B respectively . Other crucial demotions include Mohammad Amir and Fakhar Zaman, that have been in groups A and B last year are currently in class C, and Evaluation specialist Azhar Ali, who averaged 28.23 final year, and was demoted from class A to B.

Imam-ul-Haq, Haris Sohail, and Mohammad Abbas, meanwhile, have been promoted from group C to B. Asad Shafiq was kept in B.

Amir’s demotion comes in the wake of his retirement from Tests while Malik’s decision to only play T20Is may have played a part in his omission. Asif Ali, who was among Pakistan’s major investments in the recent years, was left out along with Junaid Khan, Hussain Talat, Bilal Asif, Mohammad Nawaz, Ruman Raees, Rahat Ali, Usman Salahuddin, Sahibzada Farhan, and Saad Ali.

The PCB’s brand new yearly contracts will be valid from July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2020, together with Pakistan playing 42 times of global cricket, including 32 in Tests, in the subsequent 12 months. Although the focus of this shortlisted pool continues to be around funding youthful players, the PCB, commenting about the exclusion of Malik and Hafeez, stated both players’will stay available for selection’.

At age 38, Hafeez’s prospects on the global circuit appear somewhat bleak. At the World Cup, the bowling allrounder scored just 253 runs at a mean of 31.62 in eight innings and took two wickets in seven innings. In Tests, within the previous 12 months, he has amassed only 200 runs in nine innings while his performance in ODIs – 507 runs in 18 matches, in a mean of 33.80 – has been lukewarm at best. From the shortest format, though, he has been prolific, averaging 81 in six innings since August this past year.

Given the PCB is without a selection committee at the second – leader selector Inzamam-ul-Haq had decided against renewing his contract after his stint finished in July – the list of contracted players was drawn up by the PCB director Zakir Khan (global cricket operations), Haroon Rasheed (domestic cricket operations), Muddasir Nazar (manager, National Cricket Academy), along with Wasim Khan (managing director, PCB). Once a brand new selection committee has been named, it’ll have the ability to add players to the contracts listing.

“We have significantly increased the financial value of the 2019-20 retainers across each group,” Wasim said in a statement. “That is over and above what was agreed in the current arrangement, which is supposed to run until 2021.

“The PCB have set high standards and targets in its strategic plan for the upcoming season. We want to attach a high value for a central contract. We’ve got complete faith and confidence that those players will set up and create on-field performances which will help us jointly achieve our aims and goals.”

Category A (PKR 1.1m) : Babar Azam, Sarfaraz Ahmed and Yasir Shah
Category B (PKR 750,000) : Asad Shafiq, Azhar Ali, Haris Sohail, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Abbas, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Wahab Riaz
Category C (PKR 550,000): Abid Ali, Hasan Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Shan Masood and Usman Shinwari

Out: Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Faheem Ashraf, Junaid Khan, Bilal Asif, Saad Ali, Mir Hamza, Umaid Asif, Sahibzada Farhan, Mohammad Nawaz, Rumman Raees, Asif Ali, Hussain Talat, Rahat Ali, Usman Salahuddin
Players that were demoted: Fakhar Zaman (B to C), Mohammad Amir (A to C), Hassan Ali (B to C)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.